throw pillow party. 

Throw pillows can instantly make even the most blah piece of furniture or room look stylish, fun, and more alive. I put them anywhere I can. I love mixing colors, textures, solids, and patterns. I’m admittedly more of a plain Jane so I tend to gravitate toward pillows that aren’t super bright or busy, even though I love them. I’m working on it though! I’m constantly rearranging my pillows, from the sofas, chairs, the bench, and anywhere else I can get away with it. It’s pretty much a constant rotation depending on my mood, and it’s one of my favorite things to do when I’m bored. So gather all your pillows in a pile and play around with different mixes and options. Have a super fugly pillow? Get a plain cover in a good neutral color and mix it in with some more detailed ones. Simple solids tend to ground and offset the chaos of differing patterns and textures,  which instantly makes the room look a little calmer, in my opinion. 

Side note – for cute pillows on the affordable side try the Nate Berkus line at Target. Lots of fun patterns and textures in neutral and natural palettes. Home Goods also has rows and rows of every variety and color. If you are feeling wild and want to splurge, try Furbish Studio or Biscuit Home. They are basically throw pillow heaven.

Leave a Reply

